The U.S. Department of Education has selected 21 schools in the state for a national award.  Twelve public and nine private schools in Illinois have been recognized as Blue Ribbon Schools, meaning students are performing at very high levels or significant improvements are being made in students’ academic achievement.
Click here for summary
Gov. Pat Quinn believes credit should also be given to the parents who get involved in their children’s education. “Whether you have a public school or a private school, there are people that come forward and participate and help lead the mission forward,” Quinn said.
The 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools in Illinois:
  • Lincoln Elementary, Morton
  • United North Elementary, Alexis
  • Scott Elementary, Scott Air Force Base
  • Greenbriar Elementary, St. Norbert, and Wescott Elementary, Northbrook
  • Prairie Crossing Charter School, Grayslake
  • Roslyn Road Elementary, Barrington
  • St. Joan of Arc, Evanston
  • St. Francis Xavier, La Grange
  • St. Michael, Orland Park
  • St. Peter Lutheran, Arlington Heights
  • Skinner West Elementary, Northside Catholic Academy, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Academy, Queen of Angels School, Frazier International Magnet School and St. Andrew School, Chicago
  • Sandburg Middle School, Elmhurst
  • Twin Groves Middle School, Buffalo Grove
  • The Skokie School, Winnetka
(Copyright WBGZ / )