Former Police Chief Alan Winslow has been elected mayor of Bethalto.  He succeeds four term incumbent Steve Bryant who chose not to run for another term.

Three of four candidates were elected village trustees in Bethalto.  Elected were Brady Dugger, Perry Withers, and Gerald Bourland.

Elected village trustees in East Alton were Randall Mortland, David Kuehnel, and Robert Greene.

Paul Oller has been elected mayor of Roxana.  Village trustees elected in Roxana are Jack LaTempt, Patricia Ford, and Jim Loyd.

Kenny Beasley is the mayor of South Roxana.  Elected village trustees in South Roxana are Barb Overton, Michael Davis, and Maggie Manley.

Elected to the Wood River city council are Cheryl Goessman Maguire and Scott Miner.  Miner is a newcomer to the political scene and a senior at East Alton Wood River High School.

Mike Babcock won re-election as the Wood River Township Supervisor, and Sandy Shaw has been elected as the new Wood River Township Assessor.

Mark Gernigin won the Wood River Township highway commissioner race.  Patrick Maher has been elected highway commissioner in Foster Township and Todd Shaw has gained the same post in Fort Russell Township.

Elected Fort Russell trustees are Steve Imel, Russell Henke, Thomas Martin, and Larry Bussman.

Elected Moro Township trustees are Kerry Bertels, Don Kruse, Jason Christians, and Keith Eden.

In contested school board races, Patricia Devening, Steve Palen, Jon Lawrence, and Dennis "Jim" Smith have been elected in Roxana.  

In Bethalto, school board winners are Tad Middleton, Tom Beiermann, Jeff Whaley, and Sharon Rothe.

Elected to the East Alton Elementary District board are Mary Karrick, Joan Mudge, Margaret Foiles, and Duane Shirley.

In Edwardsville, in a hotly contest school board race, the winners are Jeff Miller, Dorothy Hummel, Bradley Hewitt, and Lelan Olsen.

The new mayor of Edwardsville is Hal Patton, who defeated Barb Stamer in the race for an open seat.

Voters in Wood River Township and Edwardsville approved electric aggregation questions. 

For a breakdown of all the Madison County numbers, go to


(Copyright WBGZ Radio/