The Alton Plan Commission may have a new personality soon, as three members likely will not be reappointed.  Anne Doucleff, Bill Stoutenborough, and John Rain are expected to be replaced at the next Alton City Council meeting by James Rogalsky, Eva Perkins and Wayne Gibson. 

Alton Mayor Brant Walker tells The Big Z the nominations were laid over so aldermen can have more time to research the potential new members.

The city council voted to overrule the plan commission two weeks ago to allow a text amendment that would have allowed a towing dispatch center on 7th Street.  But the council reversed its position last night.

Click here for Walker's comments Click here for Walker's comments

The sitting plan commission has recommended negative votes on text amendments several times in recent months, only to have the recommendations overridden by the city council.  As a result, a new tattoo shop is coming to Broadway, and a restaurant will be opening soon on State Street. 


(Copyright WBGZ Radio / )