Fourteen more Illinois counties have been approved for federal disaster aid to help people and businesses recover from historic flooding in mid-April.   The additional counties include Bureau, Crawford, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Peoria, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell and Woodford. These add to 11 counties already approved for federal aid last week.
Click here for summary
The state’s request was supported by damage assessment documentation that identified 14 homes in the area that were destroyed and 202 that suffered major damage. Thousands of additional homes were also affected by the floods. More than 800 homes in those counties were surveyed.  The federal disaster declaration makes assistance available to flood victims, including grants to individuals and households to help with temporary housing, home repairs or replacement and other disaster-related expenses, as well as low-interest SBA loans to residents and businesses.
On May 10 federal aid was approved for Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties.  Patti Thompson, spokeswoman Illinois Emergency Management Agency, says damage assessments continue and there could be additional requests for federal assistance.
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which administers the assistance program, has a toll-free telephone number (800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for hearing and speech impaired) for victims to apply for assistance.
Registration can also be done online at
(COpyright WBGZ / )