There will be a few new faces in the Brighton area following the election on Tuesday.  Incumbent Wayne Schaefer returns as mayor, but Billie Laubscher is the new Village Clerk.   Betty Roberts wins as Brighton Township Supervisor, and Nancy Cunningham is the Brighton Township Clerk.  

The Brighton township highway commissioner is Timothy McNear.   The new Brighton Township Trustees are all newcomers: Marcella Wilfong, Robert Montgomery, Edward Cochran, and Janet Jones.

Tom Ament is the new mayor in Bunker Hill, and Elizabeth Wieseman is the new City Clerk.  Richard Girth and John Chapman were elected as Ward 1 city council members.

Voters in Jersey County shot down a proposed three-quarter-cent sales tax for schools by nearly a 2 to 1 margin.

The Jersey County Supervisor's race goes to Larry Muntz.

Former State Senator Deanna Demuzio is back in politics, she is the new mayor in Carlinville.

Village Trustees elected in Elsah include Linda Cunningham, Bonnie Castroman, and Jerry Hamlet.

Betty Dugan won for village president in Fieldon.

In Grafton, Aldermen elected in contested races include Jerry Bauersachs in Ward 1, and Florence Rowling in Ward 3.

Kelly Orban won the village president's seat in Medora.

The race for Village President in Shipman remains up in the air, with a tie between Tim Trevino and Daniel Barnett who each received 49 votes, and 59 votes going to write-in candidates.  

Jeff Cox, Larry Darr, Kimberlee Egelhoff, Kevin Barnhart, and Billy Stoops were elected Shipman Village Trustees.

Voters in Macoupin County approved a concealed carry proposition, but defeated a public safety tax question.

For complete Jersey County results, go to:


For Macoupin County numbers go to:

(Copyright WBGZ Radio/