In Jersey County, Republican Pam Warford defeated incumbent Democrat Steve Pohlman in the County Clerk’s race.  Republican Gib Ashlock was elected County Treasurer.  The Sheriff’s race went to Democrat Mark Kallal. 

For Jersey County Board seats, the winners were Democrat Wayne Schell in District 1, Democrat Sandy Heafner in District 2, Republicans Rhonda Linders and Ron Henerfouth in District 3, and Republican Ed Koenig in District 4.  Also in District 4, there was a tie between Democrats Gary Koenig and Don Little who each garnered 677 votes.  Absentee ballots still have to be counted so that decision remains on hold.


In Macoupin County, the only contested race was for Sheriff.  Democrat Shawn Kahl was elected.

A few questions for Macoupin County voters:

The Shipman Village Proposition was defeated 65% to 35%

The Medora Village Proposition was defeated 56% to 44%

The Macoupin County Sales Tax proposition was narrowly defeated 50% to 49%

For the Macoupin County Board, the winners were Julie Watson and Frank Long in District 3 and William Harding and Robert Quarton in District 6.


(Copyright WBGZ Radio/