Oak Forest police officer James Morrissy left behind a legacy – a “blueprint” for how the job should be done, said one of the speakers honoring him Thursday at the annual Illinois Police Officers Memorial Day.  Morrissy was responding as backup on a routine call and was in a fatal car crash. His death, March 17, 2014, was the only one of the past year recognized at the ceremony on the Capitol grounds.  “We only lost one officer last year,” said Oak Forest chief Greg Anderson. “One officer is one too many.”
Click here for summary
Also recognized were “historic honorees” from prior years:
  • Marshall Patrick Reddington, Shannon Police Department. Date of death: May 15, 1886
  • Clarence Bixler, Chicago Police Department, June 22, 1892
  • Officer John Dempsey, Chicago Police Department, July 14, 1894
  • Constable Albert Wood, Wayne County Sheriff’s Department, April 28, 1904
  • Chief James Dayley, Spillertown Police Department, Dec. 2, 1906
  • Sgt. Wilfred French, Cairo Police Department, Dec. 3, 1910
  • Marshall Benjamin Schmitt, O'Fallon Police Department, March 21, 1916
  • Chief Marshall Bagby, Mounds Police Department, July 24, 1925
  • Officer Luke Howe, Chicago Police Department, Aug. 25, 1928
  • Officer George Runyon, Maroa Police Department, March 23, 1935
  • Officer Sidney Sam, Chicago Police Department, June 16, 1971
  • Investigator Milton Rueck, Illinois Department of Conservation, Aug. 19, 1973
(Copyright WBGZ / www.AltonDailyNews.com )