Forty-six attorneys have thrown their names into the ring for consideration to fill five vacancies in the Office of Associate Judge in the Third Judicial Circuit of Illinois.  Five of the 13 judges’ terms recently expired and were not reappointed, and all reapplied for the job.  The Third Judicial Circuit covers Madison and Bond counties.

Among the attorneys applying for the bench are Marleen Suarez, who unsuccessfully challenged Kurt Prenzler for the Madison County Treasurer’s seat last year; Amy Sholar, who unsuccessfully ran against Tom Gibbons for Madison County State’s Attorney in 2014, and a handful of what could become second-generation judges.  As mentioned, Duane Bailey, Ben Beyers, Donald Flack, David Grounds, and Elizabeth Levy are all seeking to come back although they did not receive enough votes for retention last month.  See the full list of names below:


John R. Abell


Roy D. Anderson


Duane L. Bailey


Christopher J. T. Bauer


Erin L. Beavers


Timothy D. Berkley


Ben T. Beyers, II


Michael J. Brunton


Ellen R. Burford


Rodney D. Caffey


Jeffery A. Cain


John R. Daugherty


Christopher M. Donohoo


James M. Drazen


David W. Dugan


David J. Ezra


Derek L. Filcoff


Donald M. Flack


Clifton L. Flex


Janel L. Freeman


David K. Grounds


Jennifer L. Hightower


Eric D. Jackstadt


Anthony R. Jumper


Elizabeth R. Levy


Peter J. Maag


Thomas G. Maag


Amy Maher


Edward T. McCarthy


Andrew J. Miofsky


Heather L. Mueller-Jones


Marc W. Parker


Allyson M. Romani


Maureen D. Schuette


Amy E. Sholar


Darren K. Short


Luther W. Simmons


Katherine M. Smith


Sarah D. Smith


Judy Kay Steele


Marleen M. Suarez


Kelly C. Sullivan


Kerry T. Taplin


Suzanne M. Vogel


Mary Beth Williams


Leslie A. Wood



(Copyright WBGZ Radio / )