EDWARDSVILLE – Southern Illinois University Edwardsville School of Pharmacy’s (SOP) Khushali Sarnot has been recognized nationally with the 2021-22 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Student Leadership Award. The award honors Sarnot’s interest in pharmacy practice in health-systems and her successful track record as a leader.

SIUE School of Pharmacy’s Khushali Sarnot.Sarnot’s exceptional attributes and leadership accomplishments were recognized among the pool of 12 contestants in a “rigorous and competitive selection process,” according to ASHP. As a second-year student, Sarnot, of Manchester, Mo., holds several leadership positions, including class vice president, Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists (SSHP) president-elect and social chair for the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP).

Get The Latest News!

Don't miss our top stories and need-to-know news everyday in your inbox.

She participated in a 2021 ASHP Summer Internship, which provides pharmacy students with an opportunity to gain association experience in membership development and membership marketing at the national level.

Lisa Lubsch, PharmD, Sarnot’s co-advisor, recommended her for the award. She describes Sarnot’s commitment to work and leadership abilities as outstanding.

“As president-elect of the SSHP and vice-president of her class, Sarnot provides full support to the other officers and serves her peers in the most kind and motivating ways,” said Lubsch. “She brings new ideas and asks appropriate questions when there are gaps during the SSHP executive meetings. Her written communication to the school about class initiatives is clear and stimulating, making them very successful.”

Article continues after sponsor message

“Sarnot is a pharmacy leader,” Lubsch added. “I am excited for her SSHP presidency and to watch her grow along the rest of her path. She is going places, and I am happy that her journey started at SIUE and in leading the SSHP.”

Sarnot acknowledged the value of the encouragement she’s received from her two advisors, Lubsch and Jingyan Fan, PharmD.

“I couldn’t have done it without you,” Sarnot shared. “I appreciate all the time you have spent shaping me into the leader I hoped to be. Thank you for all your help, support and guidance.”

The award comes with a plaque, a cash reward of $2,000 provided by the ASHP Research and Education Foundation, and ePublications from the drug information library.

Today’s pharmacists improve patients’ lives through the medication and education they provide. The School of Pharmacy is dedicated to developing a community of caring pharmacists through a curriculum that is nationally recognized as a model for offering students a unique combination of classroom education, research, community service and patient care. Areas of excellence include a drug design and discovery core, pediatric practice, chronic pain research and practice, and diabetes research and practice.

More like this:

May 27, 2023 - School of Pharmacy Reaccredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education 

Apr 17, 2023 - SIUE’s School of Pharmacy Clean Up Yards for Local Senior Citizens 

Jul 17, 2023 - SIUE’s Angela Andrews Named to 40 Under 40 Emerging Nurse Leaders in Illinois

Sep 12, 2023 - SIUE Faculty Continues to Play a Role in NCAA Governance

Jun 8, 2023 - Angela Andrews Receives SIUE's Teaching Distinction Award