SPRINGFIELD– Relief is coming for farmers who experienced excessive moisture and flash flooding this spring and summer in 12 Illinois counties. USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation.

Subscribe Now to Breaking News

Secretary Tom Vilsack has issued a disaster designation for farmers in the following counties: Calhoun, Cass, Edgar, Jefferson, Jersey, McLean, Macoupin, Monroe, Morgan, Moultrie, St. Clair and Sangamon.

USDA natural disaster designations also include contiguous counties adding Brown, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clinton, Coles, DeWitt, Douglas, Ford, Franklin, Greene, Hamilton, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Madison, Marion, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Perry, Piatt, Pike, Randolph, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Tazewell, Vermilion, Washington, Wayne and Woodford.

Article continues after sponsor message

Top Story: GoFundMe Organized For Alton's Ryan Heinlein's Family, He Died In Tragic Fatal Car Crash Dec. 5

“The resiliency and health of our farming community is critical to the overall health of the Illinois economy,” said Governor JB Pritzker. “On behalf of a grateful state, I would like to thank Secretary Vilsack for issuing a natural disaster designation to the counties working to recover from this year’s floods. These USDA loans will help our farmers restore their land and resume the business operations that feed and fuel our state.”

“This year’s growing season saw multiple weather issues depending on where you were located in Illinois,” said Jerry Costello II, Illinois Department of Agriculture Director. “I want to thank Governor JB Pritzker for working with Secretary Vilsack and the USDA to ensure our farmers have the resources they need to come back after a natural disaster.”

A Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the USDA Farm Service Agency to provide emergency loans to producers recovering from natural disasters. Producers should contact their local USDA Service Center to ask questions or file a Notice of Loss.

Read More:

Winnebago County Added As Primary Natural Disaster Area

"Aerosmith - Walk This Way" now playing on The Eagle, the Riverbend's only Classic Rock station. Check out Riverbender Radio Today and Listen to Win!