EDWARDSVILLE — Chairman Kurt Prenzler issued a disaster proclamation on Monday for Madison County in response to a deadly tornado that took six lives after hitting an Amazon fulfillment center in Edwardsville.

“We in Madison County are still in shock and mourning about what happened on Friday night,” Prenzler said.

Get The Latest News!

Don't miss our top stories and need-to-know news everyday in your inbox.

Prenzler toured the site on Monday with Gov. J.B. Pritzker, Edwardsville Mayor Art Risavy and other state and local leaders. Pritzker also declared a disaster proclamation for Madison County as well as the counties of Bond, Cass, Champaign, Coles, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Greene, Grundy, Iroquois, Jackson, Jersey, Kankakee, Lawrence, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Sangamon, Shelby, Tazewell, and Woodford.

Article continues after sponsor message

A disaster proclamation provides the region with additional resources and funding needed to help a community recover.

“We appreciate the immediacy of the response from the State and Governor,” Prenzler said.

The American Red Cross, Salvation Army, Edwardsville Community Foundation, and other nonprofits are also providing services to local residents.

Madison County.

Read More:

Dec 28, 2015 | Declaration of Disaster Issued For Madison County

May 30, 2019 | Gov. Pritzker Activates Illinois National Guard to Assist Madison County, Jersey, Calhoun, Other Neighboring Areas

Dec 14, 2021 | Gov. Pritzker Announces Federal Emergency Disaster Declaration for Illinois Counties Impacted by Severe Weather, Tornadoes

Sep 20, 2019 | Alton Tops Madison County Flood Recovery Grants With $3.75 Million, Wood River Drainage and Levee, $1.1 Million

RBRadioLaunchGif"Carrie Underwood - Dirty Laundry" now playing on The River, the Riverbend's only Country station on Riverbender Radio.

Listen on Alexa: "Alexa, play The River on the radio"