EDWARDSVILLE — Chairman Kurt Prenzler issued a disaster proclamation on Monday for Madison County in response to a deadly tornado that took six lives after hitting an Amazon fulfillment center in Edwardsville.

“We in Madison County are still in shock and mourning about what happened on Friday night,” Prenzler said.

Get The Latest News!

Don't miss our top stories and need-to-know news everyday in your inbox.

Prenzler toured the site on Monday with Gov. J.B. Pritzker, Edwardsville Mayor Art Risavy and other state and local leaders. Pritzker also declared a disaster proclamation for Madison County as well as the counties of Bond, Cass, Champaign, Coles, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Greene, Grundy, Iroquois, Jackson, Jersey, Kankakee, Lawrence, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Sangamon, Shelby, Tazewell, and Woodford.

Article continues after sponsor message

A disaster proclamation provides the region with additional resources and funding needed to help a community recover.

“We appreciate the immediacy of the response from the State and Governor,” Prenzler said.

The American Red Cross, Salvation Army, Edwardsville Community Foundation, and other nonprofits are also providing services to local residents.

Madison County.

More like this:

May 30, 2019 | Gov. Pritzker Activates Illinois National Guard to Assist Madison County, Jersey, Calhoun, Other Neighboring Areas

Dec 13, 2021 | Gov. Pritzker Issues Disaster Proclamation For Illinois Communities Impacted By Recent Storms

Aug 9, 2019 | Madison County to recognize flood response efforts by communities and agencies

Sep 18, 2019 | Madison County Recognizes Communities and Agencies Efforts in the 2019 Flood Response

Dec 5, 2017 | Madison County gives salute to llinois Bicentennial with flag-raising ceremony