SPRINGFIELD – Governor JB Pritzker, Illinois State Police (ISP) Director Brendan F. Kelly, and law enforcement officials from across the state honored the acts of heroism performed by local and state officers during the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Ceremony today in Springfield. The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee awarded 136 officers from 41 agencies the Medal of Honor in recognition of their brave and sacrificial service to the citizens of Illinois.

https://static.riverbender.com/media/8232235805-BrendanKelly.jpeg“Every single one of our Medal of Honor Awardees exemplify the unwavering unselfishness and courage that it takes to be a true public servant,” said Governor JB Pritzker. “From the July 4th Highland Park massacre to hostage situations and armed robberies, Illinois’ police officers respond to our most daunting emergencies with resolve and selflessness — and on behalf of the people of Illinois, we couldn’t be more grateful.”

Get The Latest News!

Don't miss our top stories and need-to-know news everyday in your inbox.

The Medal of Honor is awarded to officers who have been killed or seriously injured in the line of duty or who have displayed exceptional bravery or heroism while performing their duties as a law enforcement officer.

“The special souls we pay tribute to met the common daily challenge of enforcing our laws with uncommon bravery,” said ISP Director Brendan F. Kelly. “The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee and the Illinois State Police honor these heroes, some who paid the ultimate price, in the pursuit of justice and the protection of public safety."

The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee was established in statute through the Law Enforcement and Fire Fighting Medal of Honor Act in 1990. Current committee members include ISP Director Kelly, Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board Executive Director Keith Calloway, Chicago Police Department Interim Superintendent Eric Carter, DeKalb Police Department Chief David Byrd, retired ISP Master Sergeant and St. Clair County Coroner Calvin Dye, and McHenry County Conservation District Police Chief Laura King.

Today’s ceremony was the first held since 2016. The follow are the list of recipients from 2017 through 2022.

Aurora Police Department


Officer Alexander Lopez

Officer Andrew C. Soderlund

Belvidere Police Department


Officer Ryan R. Davenport

Officer Joseph M. McDermott

Bloomingdale Police Department


Officer Raymond A. Murrell, posthumously

Bolingbrook Police Department


Officer Salvatore Davi

Bradley Police Department


Officer Tyler J. Bailey

Sergeant Marlene R. Rittmanic, posthumously

Bridgeview Police Department


Officer John Stein

Brooklyn Police Department


Officer Brian R. Pierce Jr., posthumously

Carbondale Police Department


Sergeant Guy G. Draper

Carpentersville Police Department


Sergeant Kevin M. Stankowitz

Officer Ian R. Abrahamsen

Champaign Police Department


Officer Jeffrey J. Creel

Officer Christopher N. Oberheim, posthumously

Chicago Heights Police Department


Officer Gary S. Hibbs, posthumously

Chicago Police Department


Sergeant Michael Keeney

Sergeant Scott Kravitz

Sergeant John Pellegrini

Sergeant Sonia Rios

Sergeant Erick Seng

Officer Bernard W. Domagala, posthumously

Officer Patrick W. Forbes

Officer David Hardt

Officer Martin Hernandez

Officer Michael L. Hudson

Officer Joel Lopez

Officer Luis Lopez

Officer Victoria Mendoza

Officer Christian Nunez

Officer David Perez

Officer Efrain Rodriguez

Officer Andre H. Van Vegten, posthumously


Commander Paul R. Bauer, posthumously

Officer Conrad Gary, posthumously

Officer Samuel Jimenez, posthumously

Officer Eduardo Marmolejo, posthumously

Officer Elvis Turcinovic


Lieutenant Thomas Lamb Jr.

Sergeant John Hamilton

Detective Michael J. Chiocca

Officer James Henson

Officer Angelina M. Palermo

Officer Fernando Soto

Officer Michaela Tuohy

Officer Jairo Valeriano

Officer Adam M. Wazny

Officer George Whiting


Sergeant Frank V. Ramaglia

Officer Carlos Castillo


Sergeant Mathew J. Lopez

Officer Mark R. Bean

Officer Joshua Blas

Officer Roger Ferreira

Officer Ella G. French, posthumously

Officer Julio Garcia

Officer Brayan Jauregui

Officer Michael Kocerka

Officer Bernard Lee Jr.

Officer Daniel McAuliffe

Officer Adrian McCoy

Officer Nicolas Morales Jr.

Officer Mark J. Nakayama

Officer Eduardo Perez

Officer Thomas Raap

Officer Justin Simik-Valadez

Officer Crysel A. Torres

Officer Carlos A. Yanez Jr.


Officer Fabian Arreola

Officer Rudy Estrada

Officer Sean J. Murray

Officer Erik A. Moreno

Officer Olivia A. Sardella

Officer Felipe A. Zamorano

Cicero Police Department


Officer Jamarie Coleman

Officer Luis Duarte

DeKalb Police Department


Officer Brian Bollow

Officer Kaela Gardner

Dixon Police Department

Article continues after sponsor message


Officer Mark A. Dallas

East Moline Police Department


Officer Ryan T. Clark

Officer Logan A. Wolfe

East Peoria Police Department


Officer Jeffrey A. Bieber

Evanston Police Department


Officer Brandon Marx


Officer Justin L. Conely

Officer Corey D. McCray

Officer Adam A. Nawotka

Officer Karl M. Witt

Fulton County Sheriff's Office


Deputy Troy P. Chisum, posthumously

Glen Ellyn Police Department


Officer Kevin J. Riggle

Hampton Police Department


Chief of Police Terrence A. Engle, posthumously

Hometown Police Department


Lieutenant James Kouski, posthumously

Illinois Conservation Police


Conservation Police Officer Shane M. Teas

Illinois Gaming Board


Senior Special Agent Bryan E. Hileman

Illinois State Police


Sergeant Nicholas Colon

Trooper Ryan M. Albin, posthumously

Trooper Chad Martinez

Trooper Gerald W. Ellis, posthumously

Trooper Jeffery A. Graham

Trooper Nicholas J. Hopkins, posthumously

Trooper Brooke Jones-Story, posthumously

Trooper Christopher J. Lambert, posthumously


Trooper Kyle M. Seger


Trooper Adam G. Bowers

Trooper Brian W. Frank

Trooper Jeffery A. Graham

Trooper Matthew W. Hannan

Trooper Todd A. Hanneken, posthumously

Trooper Delano Harris-Samuels

Trooper Michael D. Higgins

Trooper Tyler J. Hoogerwerf

Trooper Alexander J. Oakley

Trooper Steven E. Smith

Trooper Robert D. Swift

Special Agent Mark S. Perry


Sergeant Jeff D. Moore

Trooper Kristopher Martinez

Trooper Matthew A. Reents

Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office


Deputy David A. May

Jerseyville Police Department


Officer Nathan D. Miller

Knox County Sherriff’s Department


Deputy Sheriff Nicholas D. Weist, posthumously

Lake County Sheriff's Office


Deputy John B. Forlenza

Deputy Raymond J. Gilbert

Lombard Police Department


Detective Ryan A. Postal

McHenry County Sheriff’s Office


Sergeant Daniel Kramer

Deputy Thomas Sieber


Deputy Jacob H. Keltner, posthumously

North Aurora Police Department


Officer Christopher M. Joswick

Oswego Police Department


Officer Brandon T. Dilg

Peoria Police Department


Officer Ian K. McDowell

Pontoon Beach Police Department


Officer Tyler N. Timmins, posthumously

RockfordPolice Department


Officer Jaimie J. Cox, posthumously

University of Chicago Police Department


Officer Nicholas Twardak

Wamac Police Department


Chief of Police Steve R. Prather

Waukegan Police Department


Officer Peter V. Lyons


Officer Christopher A. Harris

Wayne County Sheriff’s Department


Deputy Sean I. Riley, posthumously

More like this:

Oct 30, 2023 - Jersey Middle School First-Quarter Honor Roll

Oct 23, 2023 - Top Officer, Special Agent, Telecommunicator, Forensic Scientist For 2001-2022 Honored by ISP

Nov 1, 2023 - Criminal Sexual Assault, Child Pornography, Home Invasion, Other Charges Filed In Greene County

Jun 9, 2023 - Jersey Community High School Celebrates Academic Excellence with High Honor Roll and Honor Roll Achievements

Nov 29, 2023 - Alton Man Receives 32-Year Prison Term In Child Pornography Case