SPRINGFIELD - As the House of Representatives cancel another planned day of continuous session, more than 40 mayors penned an op-ed urging lawmakers to pass the GOP Leaders stopgap budget proposal and education budget.

Get The Latest News!

Don't miss our top stories and need-to-know news everyday in your inbox.

This is an excerpt of the op-ed that was published this morning in the State Journal-Register:

As the Illinois General Assembly departed Springfield on May 31 without passing a budget, we now face a very uncertain future that affects not only our government, but more importantly, our citizens.As this budget stalemate continues, we need a plan to ensure funding for schools and local government until a comprehensive budget resolution can be reached.

[…] as of today, schools around the state have received no appropriation for state funding for this upcoming school year. Without this appropriation, schools are left in the precarious position of trying to figure out how to fill the hole the state budget dollars has left. […]

Thankfully, a bill introduced in Springfield by State Rep. Jim Durkin and State Sen. Christine Radogno will fund early childhood, elementary and secondary education for the upcoming school year and ensure our schools open on time this fall. Unlike previously floated education plans, this proposal is fully funded and would not require any additional revenues or add to the state's ever-increasing bill backlog. Additionally, the bill contains a hold-harmless provision which ensures that any school which would have lost dollars under the current funding formula will at least receive the same amount as they did last year. […]

Another bill  introduced by leaders Durkin and Radogno serves as a bridge to keep government functioning and protects public health, welfare and safety. As mayors, it is critically important that we have much-needed funding to address our local infrastructure needs. This fully funded stopgap budget funds the state's full road construction program in Fiscal Year 2017, including bridge repair and local government road allocations, which are funded predominantly out of motor fuel tax funds and vehicle registration fees. […]

This common-sense plan serves as a bridge that allows schools to open, protects public safety and avoids a government shutdown. This plan is fiscally prudent and fully-funded, contrary to the numerous unfunded, out-of- balance spending plans we've seen come out of the legislature this session.


Full List of Mayors:

Steve Chirico

Mayor-City of Naperville


Dale Adams

Mayor-Village of Rockton


Jim Ardis

Mayor-City of Peoria


Liandro Arellano, Jr.

Mayor-City of Dixon


Frank Bart

Mayor-Village of Wauconda


Tim Baldermann

Mayor-Village of New Lenox


Dale Berman

President-Village of North Aurora


Terry Blakeman

President-Village of Ashland


Elizabeth Brandt

Mayor-Village of Lincolnshire


Kevin Burns

Mayor-City of Geneva


Mike Chamberlain

Mayor-City of Belvidere


Michael Einhorn

President-Village of Crete


Nina Epstein

Mayor-City of Kankakee


Dane Flesner

Mayor-City of Mount Sterling


Gary Golinski

Mayor-City of Yorkville


Jerry Gunn

President-Village of Camp Point


B.J. Hackler

Mayor-Village of Saint Joseph


Rich Hill

Mayor-Village of Round Lake Beach


Mike James

Mayor-Village of Downs


Kevin Klute

President-Village of Port Byron

Article continues after sponsor message


Rick Lack

Mayor-City of Colona


Lawrence Levin

President-Village of Glencoe


Daryl Lindberg

Mayor-City of Loves Park


Robert Loy

Mayor-Village of Winthrop Harbor


Joseph Mancino

Mayor-Village of Hawthorne Woods


Dominic Marturano

Mayor-Village of Lindenhurst


Michael McCormick

President-Village of Godfrey


Martin McLaughlin

President-Village of Barrington Hills


Ron Mool

Mayor-City of El Paso


Kyle Moore

Mayor-City of Quincy


Steve Morley

Mayor-City of Elmhurst


Larry Morrissey

Mayor-City of Rockford


Martha Neitzel

Mayor-City of Lincoln


Ruben Pineda

Mayor-City of West Chicago


Scott Raes

Mayor-City of Moline


Ray Rogina

Mayor-City of St. Charles


Bob Russell

Mayor-City of Pontiac


Frank Soto

President-Village of Bensenville


Barb Stamer

Mayor-City of Auburn


John Thodos

Mayor-City of East Moline


Sean Widener

President-Village of Mahomet


Ken Williams

Mayor-City of Oregon


Jeff Bloemker

Mayor-City of Effingham

More like this:

Jul 26, 2023 - Letter To The Editor: Drake Comments About Not Being Re-Appointed To Alton Civil Service Commission

Aug 24, 2023 - LED Lighting For Clark Bridge Approved By Alton City Council

Sep 5, 2023 - Godfrey/Alton Mayors Issue Joint Statement In Support Of Safety, Security Efforts At Alton High

Aug 23, 2023 - Alton Council To Discuss LED Lighting Changes To Clark Bridge

Yesterday - North Alton-Godfrey Business Council Previews New Programs, Regular Meetings