CARROLLTON - Greene County Republican voters have chosen their party’s nominee for State’s Attorney in the county’s only contested race of the 2024 primary election.

Get The Latest News!

Don't miss our top stories and need-to-know news everyday in your inbox.

Donald Donnie Schaaf secured the Republican nomination with 70.36% of the vote, with Dayna Church-Switzer receiving 29.64% of the vote.

Article continues after sponsor message

Schaaf and Church-Switzer competed as hopeful party nominees after Incumbent Greene County State’s Attorney Caleb Briscoe announced he would not seek re-election.

Unopposed county-level races in Greene County included Shirley Thornton, the Republican nominee for Circuit Clerk, and Brady Milnes, the Republican nominee for Coroner. No Democratic candidates ran at the county level in this year’s primary election.

Full Greene County election results are available here.

More like this:

Mar 19, 2024 - Macoupin County 2024 Primary Election Results Announced

Mar 19, 2024 - Slusser Outpaces Prenzler in GOP Chairman Race, Securing Nomination

Mar 19, 2024 - Jersey County 2024 Primary Results: Reynolds Nominated Circuit Clerk, Public Safety Tax Fails

Mar 19, 2024 - Madison County Primary Election Night Results: Slusser Wins County Board Chair

Mar 20, 2024 - Budzinski Becomes Democratic Nominee for Congress in IL-13, Loyd Wins Republican Primary Nod