[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), member of the U.S. Senate Armed Services Committee, and U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL), Ranking Member of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Defense, joined U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) and 34 of their Democratic colleagues in a letter to the Chairs and Ranking Members of the Senate and House Armed Services Committees urging that they reconcile and retain the bicameral, bipartisan measure to require military installations and assets that honor the Confederacy and Confederate officers be renamed within the next three years. Senate and House Armed Services leaders begin the final stage of conference this week on the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA). In June, the Republican-led Senate Armed Services Committee (SASC) passed a bipartisan amendment to remove all names, symbols, displays, monuments, and paraphernalia that honor or commemorate the Confederacy and anyone who voluntarily served it from bases and other property of the U.S. military on a voice vote.

“The Senate and House strongly supported the inclusion of this requirement by passing their bills with overwhelming, veto-proof, bipartisan majorities. The requirement also received bipartisan support in committee markups,” the Senators wrote in their letter to Armed Services Committees’ leadership.

Get The Latest News!

Don't miss our top stories and need-to-know news everyday in your inbox.

Their latest letter raises concerns with Senate Armed Service Chairman Inhofe’s declaration that he intends to strip the bipartisan, veto-proof provision out behind closed doors in conference, saying “We’re going to see to it that provision doesn’t survive the bill… I’m not going to say how at this point.” The House Armed Services Committee passed a similar measure, both creating a process for identifying all military assets where the Confederacy is honored and implementing the new removal requirement. The House bill requires the process to be complete within one year, while the Senate bill authorizes a three-year period for complete renaming. In their letter, the Senators urge the conference committee to adopt a reconciled version of the measure that would require renaming to be complete within three years. Both committees passed their bills out of committee with overwhelming bipartisan majorities and each chamber followed suit.

Article continues after sponsor message

The Senators wrote in their letter:“We strongly oppose removing this provision and respectfully request the conferees to retain in the conference report the provision endorsed by both chambers: a requirement for the Department to rename all military assets named for the Confederacy no later than three years after the date of enactment.”

They concluded: “Millions of servicemembers of color have lived on, trained at, and deployed from installations named to honor traitors that killed Americans in defense of chattel slavery. Renaming these bases does not disrespect our military – it honors the sacrifices and contributions of our servicemembers in a way that better reflects our nation’s diversity and values. We know who these bases were named for and why they were named. It is long past the time to correct this longstanding, historic injustice. We must not shrink from our solemn duty in his moment.”

Along with Duckworth, Durbin and Warren, the letter was also signed by Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Gary Peters (D-MI), Doug Jones (D-AL), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Bob Casey (D-PA), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Maria Cantwell (D-W), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Edward J. Markey (D-MA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Tina Smith (D-MN), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Patty Murray (D-WA), Tom Carper (D-DE), Tom Udall (D-NM), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Jacky Rosen (D-NV) and Brian Schatz (D-HI).

More like this:

Dec 15, 2023 - Key Duckworth NDAA Provisions To Support Scott Air Force Base And Illinois School Districts Pass Congress

Feb 7, 2024 - Duckworth & Durbin Sponsor Kaine Amendment To Maintain Congressional Oversight Of Israel Military Assistance

Jan 10, 2024 - Durbin To Join Kaine, Colleagues In Amendment To Maintain Congressional Oversight Of Foreign Military Assistance

Oct 25, 2023 - Duckworth, Panetta Lead Call For Expanding Dod Basic Needs Allowance Program In FY24 NDAA

Mar 18, 2024 - Durbin, Mcconnell, Duckworth Urge Army To Procure Gray Eagles For 38th Infantry Division In Illinois And Kentucky