It'll be months before you can legally pack a firearm, but Illinois State Police director Hiram Grau says his people anticipated the need to prepare for a concealed-carry law a long time ago.
“We're way ahead of the game,” Grau says. “We created a committee when we heard it was going to start going into play. We'll be ready. There are several steps we have to take, but we're taking those steps.”
Click Here for Summary
The Illinois General Assembly passed a concealed-carry bill two months ago; it took effect July 9 when the overrode the governor’s amendatory veto.
The State Police will be ready to certify instructors and courses by Sept. 7 and take applications in Jan. 5, 2014, for concealed-carry. The law carries a $150 fee for a five-year permit and a 16-hour training requirement.
There's a “concealed-carry FAQ” page on the State Police web site.