Home Video News AP News Sports Classifieds Autos Real Estate Shopping Entertainment Business Directory Events

Classifieds

New on DVD and Blu-Ray

Rated: R.

Noted indie director [[Performer~P95892~Jim Jarmusch~jimjarmusch]] directs the vampire story Only Lovers Left Alive. [[Performer~P559750~Tom Hiddleston~tomhiddleston]] stars as Adam, a bloodsucker who makes a living as a reclusive musician in Detroit. He reunites with the love of his life, Eve ([[Performer~P69397~Tilda Swinton~tildaswinton]]), a fellow vampire who leaves her home overseas to be with him in the downtrodden Motor City. They eventually get a visit from Eve's irresponsible sister ([[Performer~P476869~Mia Wasikowska~miawasikowska]]), who irritates Adam and eventually causes trouble with the one human -- the vampires refer to the living as zombies -- with whom the depressed music hero gets along. Only Lovers Left Alive screened at the 2013 Toronto International Film Festival. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

Rated: R.

Director [[Performer~P437107~Ti West~tiwest]] ([[Feature~V485412~House of the Devil~thehouseofthedevil]]) teams with producers [[Performer~P355297~Eli Roth~eliroth]], [[Performer~P478248~Christopher Woodrow~christopherwoodrow]], and [[Performer~P570795~Molly Conners~mollyconners]] for this horror film starring [[Performer~P502643~A.J. Bowen~ajbowen]], [[Performer~P614194~Amy Seimetz~amyseimetz]], [[Performer~P461953~Joe Swanberg~joeswanberg]], and [[Performer~P525756~Kentucker Audley~kentuckeraudley]]. The plot centers on two VICE Media reporters ([[Performer~P502643~Bowen~ajbowen]] and [[Performer~P461953~Swanberg~joeswanberg]]) who, along with their cameraman ([[Performer~P525756~Audley~kentuckeraudley]]), venture to a Jonestown-like, Central American compound in search of the photographer's missing, drug-addicted sister ([[Performer~P614194~Seimetz~amyseimetz]]). Upon entering the community and meeting its charismatic leader "Father" ([[Performer~P232563~Gene Jones~genejones]]), the mood quickly shifts from celebratory to terrifying. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Rated: PG13.

A physics professor gathers a group of Ph.D students to help him conceive a poltergeist in this Hammer Films production based on actual events. Jane Harper ([[Performer~P763920~Olivia Cooke~oliviacooke]]) is a deeply troubled girl possessed of an all-consuming blackness, and Professor Joseph Coupland ([[Performer~P30630~Jared Harris~jaredharris]]) has a particularly unconventional plan for getting the darkness out of her. Summoning his top students to a secluded estate on the outskirts of London, Professor Coupland proposes that they attempt to manifest the malevolent energy in Jane. What the brilliant instructor and his ambitious students discover when they attempt to do so, however, is a horror so unrelentingly baleful and powerful that it may destroy them all before they even realize what a terrible mistake they've made. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Rated: R.

Writer/director [[Performer~P114771~John Turturro~johnturturro]]'s Fading Gigolo centers on an elderly New York bookstore owner ([[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]) who becomes a pimp when he turns his middle-aged friend ([[Performer~P114771~Turturro~johnturturro]]) into a gigolo hoping to raise enough money when it looks like their store is going to close. Eventually, they begin to make more money than they ever expected. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

Rated: PG13.

The web-slingin' wall-crawler hits the screens once again in this follow-up to [[Performer~P306794~Marc Webb~marcwebb]]'s 2012 reboot of the series. [[Performer~P505126~Andrew Garfield~andrewgarfield]] returns as Peter Parker, who squares off against the villainous Electro, played by [[Performer~P24604~Jamie Foxx~jamiefoxx]]. As the film opens, we find Richard (Campbell Scott) and Mary Parker (Embeth Davitz) stealing away with some crucial Oscorp files while leaving young Peter in the care of Aunt May (Sally Field) and Uncle Ben. Flash forward about a decade, and Peter (Garfield) is swinging into action as Spider-Man; having successfully thwarted the hijacking of an Oscorp truck by notorious Russian criminal Aleksei Sytsevich ([[Performer~P26680~Paul Giamatti~paulgiamatti]]), Peter ditches the costume just in time to meet up with Gwen Stacy ([[Performer~P491706~Emma Stone~emmastone]]) at their high school graduation. Despite his deep love for Emma, however, Peter remains haunted by his promise to her late father not to get emotionally involved with her for fear that she could be targeted by Spider-Man's enemies. Meanwhile, young Harry Osborne ([[Performer~P671752~Dane DeHaan~danedehaan]]) inherits OsCorp and a deadly retrovirus from his father Norman ([[Performer~P14803~Chris Cooper~chriscooper]]), and brilliant but timid OsCorp scientist Max Dillon ([[Performer~P24604~Jamie Foxx~jamiefoxx]]) gets infused with a powerful dose of electricity while attempting to fix a faulty power circuit in the lab. Upon regaining consciousness, Max discovers that he has the power to harness electrical currents - the higher the voltage the more powerful he becomes. When a battle with Max in Times Square shorts out Spidey's web-shooters, Peter goes to work on developing a more reliable model of his signature weapon while Harry grows convinced that Spider-Man's blood is the key to his survival. Later, villainous OsCorp chairman Donald Menken (Colm Feore) steals the company out right out from under Harry, driving the vengeful youth to break Max -- now Electro -- out of the heavily-guarded Ravencroft Institute for a two-pronged attack on Menken and Spider-Man. The stage for that battle is set when New York City goes dark just as Peter declares his love to Gwen, plunging the wise-cracking web-slinger into a fight that could forever alter the course of his life. ~ Jeremy Wheeler, Rovi

Rated: PG.

Disney’s “Muppets Most Wanted” takes the entire Muppets gang on a global tour, selling out grand theaters in some of Europe’s most exciting destinations, including Berlin, Madrid and London. But mayhem follows the Muppets overseas, as they find themselves unwittingly entangled in an international crime caper headed by Constantine—the World’s Number One Criminal and a dead ringer for Kermit—and his dastardly sidekick Dominic, aka Number Two, portrayed by Ricky Gervais. The film stars Tina Fey as Nadya, a feisty prison guard, and Ty Burrell as Interpol agent Jean Pierre Napoleon.

Rated: G.

Disneynature's Bears takes viewers on an educational and entertaining adventure through the Alaskan wilderness, where the documentary follows a fiercely protective mama bear named Sky and her two young cubs, Amber and Scout, over the course of an entire year. Narrated by [[Performer~P59476~John C. Reilly~johncreilly]], the film trails this young family as they venture down a mountain in search of sustenance, and encounter a variety of threats, including a pair of imposing male bears named Magnus and Chinook, as well as a crafty -- and very hungry -- wolf named Tikani. As the seasons shift, Sky teaches Amber and Scout the secrets to recognizing danger and foraging for food. Later, as salmon appear in the local waters, Sky attempts to build her fat reserves for the coming winter. But it won't be easy, because challenges await over every summit, and the competition for food can be fierce. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Rated: R.

Crossing new lines and breaking old barriers, A HAUNTED HOUSE 2 is the sequel to the hilarious box-office hit starring Marlon Wayans as Malcolm who, after exorcising the demons of his ex, is starting fresh with his new girlfriend and her two children. After moving into their dream home, Malcolm is once again plagued by bizarre paranormal events. With spine-tingling tension and hilarious punch-lines A HAUNTED HOUSE 2 is inspired by the latest supernatural horror movie franchises and shows that this time… it’s not just the house that’s haunted!

Rated: NR.

In the days leading up to World War I, a colony of bohemian artists in coastal Cornwall, England, contend with love and loss in this period drama starring [[Performer~P303046~Dominic Cooper~dominiccooper]], [[Performer~P238883~Emily Browning~emilybrowning]], and [[Performer~P481510~Dan Stevens~danstevens]]. When a love triangle forms between noted painter Sir Alfred Munnings, his noble best friend Gilbert and gorgeous aristocrat Florence Carter-Wood, the stage is set for tragedy. Based on a true story and the novel by [[Performer~P743216~Jonathan Smith~jonathansmith]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Rated: R.

A British exchange student disrupts the family dynamics of an American household in this domestic drama from director [[Performer~P529624~Drake Doremus~drakedoremus]] ([[Feature~V507371~Douchebag~douchebag]], [[Feature~V531446~Like Crazy~likecrazy]]). Before he taught music, cellist Keith Reynolds ([[Performer~P105902~Guy Pearce~guypearce]]) was just another struggling musician trying to make it in New York City. Years later, Keith has settled down with his wife Megan ([[Performer~P264377~Amy Ryan~amyryan]]). As their daughter Lauren ([[Performer~P729260~Mackenzie Davis~mackenziedavis]]) prepares for her senior year of high school, Keith begins to grow increasingly nostalgic about his bohemian youth. Meanwhile, the occasional gig as a substitute cellist for an esteemed Manhattan symphony provides a much-welcomed reprieve from his predictable life as a family man. But when Megan decides to host British high-school senior Sophie ([[Performer~P237485~Felicity Jones~felicityjones]]) as an exchange student, the wistful musician finds the impulsive nature that he has successfully repressed once again bubbling to the surface, where nothing is nearly as placid as it appears. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Follow Us

Subscribe to our FREE Daily Update
Email Address
Recent News Stories
Phone: (618) 465-9850 | Fax: (618) 465-9851
   
© Copyright 2005-2014 Intellisoft Development Corporation. All rights reserved.