

## Gallatin Awards Return For 75th Banquet

March 15 2022 1:46 PM





ALTON - It's awards time for River Bend prep basketball players. And they will be honored at an upcoming Diamond Jubilee event.



The 75th Gallatin Awards Basketball Banquet is set for 6 p.m. on Sunday, March 20 at the Best Western Premier Hotel in Alton. Male and female players from five local schools — Alton, Marquette Catholic, Civic Memorial, Roxana and East Alton-Wood River — will be contending for top awards, including the Players of the Year honors.

Tickets, costing \$25, are available at the door via cash or check, no credit cards. Alton Mayor David Goins, a 1978 Player of the Year winner, is serving as the keynote speaker. Doors will open at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner, a speech from Mayor Goins and the awards.

Former Players of the Year winners are encouraged to attend and will be recognized during the festivities. The first male winner was in 1946 and the female one in 1994. Even with the banquet canceled due to COVID-19 the last two years, POY awards were still presented in 2020 and 2021.

In addition to saluting the Players of the Year, the Gallatin Awards Committee will hand out boys and girls awards for 110 percent recipients, free throw winners and team sportsmanship. The Most Valuable boys and girls players for each team and the head coaches will be recognized.

A Special Service Award for meritorious achievement also will be presented.

Members of the Gallatin Awards Committee are: Bill Roseberry, Steve Porter, Joe Silkwood, Frank Akers, Tim Lowrance and Trish Holmes.

For further information, contact Bill Roseberry at (618) 977-5668, or you can RSVP on Facebook by searching for 75th Gallatin Players of the Year Banquet under events.

Previous Players of the Year award winners include:

- 2021 Ja'Markus Gary of Alton and Tori Standefer of CM
- 2020 Gavin Huffman of Roxana and Anna Hall of CM
- 2019 Donovan Clay of Alton and Anna Hall of CM
- 2018 Sammy Green of Marquette Catholic and Kaylee Eaton of CM
- 2017 Maurice Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2016 Shandon Boone of Marquette Catholic and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2015 Darrius Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2014 Deion Lavender of Marquette Catholic and Megan Trost of CM
- 2013 Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megan Trost of CM
- 2012 Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megkinize Carter of CM
- 2011 Tony Bradley of Alton and Cassie Endicott of CM
- 2010 Tony Bradley of Alton and Kelsey Harrison of EA-WR
- 2009 Ryan Mathews of Alton and Michaela Herrod of Alton
- 2008 Ruben Cotto of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM
- 2007 Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM

- 2006 Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM
- 2005 Lorenzo Taylor of Alton and Emily Best of EA-WR
- 2004 Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Emily Best of EA-WR
- 2003 Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Jordan Davis of Roxana
- 2002 Travis Williams of EA-WR and Casey Law of CM
- 2001 Michael Stockard of Alton and Ashley Russell of EA-WR

2000 — Demarko "Book" Snipes of Alton and Michelle Beiermann of Marquette Catholic

- 1999 Demarko "Book" Snipes of Alton and Kendra Snyder of Marquette Catholic
- 1998 Tony Certa of Marquette Catholic and DoBee Oros-Moore of Alton
- 1997 Marlon Crawford of Alton and Jenni Combes of CM
- 1996 Nic Stotler of CM and Angela Payne of Roxana
- 1995 Greg McDanel of Roxana and Erica Oge of Marquette Catholic
- 1994 Eric Frankford of CM and Amie Gernigan of Marquette Catholic
- 1993 Ty Laux of CM
- 1992 Brad Bohannon of Marquette Catholic
- 1991 Jonathan Denney of CM
- 1990 Kevin Caldwell of Alton
- 1989 Joe Vann of Alton
- 1988 Steve Mason of Marquette Catholic
- 1987 Jamie Humphries of CM
- 1986 Larry Smith of Alton

- 1985 Larry Smith of Alton
- 1984 Dale Liley of EA-WR
- 1983 Rick Taylor of Alton
- 1982 Steve Wooley of EA-WR
- 1981 Dan Coddington of EA-WR
- 1980 Troy Washpun of Alton
- 1979 Jim "Buzz" Logan of EA-WR
- 1978 David Goins of Alton
- 1977 Brad Scheiter of Alton
- 1976 Leroy Stampley of Alton
- 1975 Chris Schroeder of Roxana
- 1974 Doug Nalley of Alton
- 1973 Lafayette Collins of Alton
- 1972 Dennis Olston of EA-WR
- 1971 Ron Caldwell of Alton
- 1970 Dave Taynor of CM
- 1969 Mike Jeffries of Alton
- 1968 Leon Huff of Alton
- 1967 Ricci Stotler of CM
- 1966 Jim Bailey of EA-WR
- 1965 Terry Brown of EA-WR

- 1964 Larry Jeffries of Alton
- 1963 Bob Hilgendorf of CM
- 1962 Larry Shoemaker of Alton
- 1961 Gary Lane of EA-WR
- 1960 Karl Doucleff of Western Military Academy
- 1959 Jerry Messick of EA-WR
- 1958 Mike Hunter of Alton
- 1957 Jim Lemon of EA-WR
- 1956 Cliff Talley of EA-WR
- 1955 Essic Robinson of Alton
- 1954 -Richard Brown of Roxana
- 1953 Dick Harbke of Roxana
- 1952 Ron Fisher of EA-WR
- 1951 Bob Kuhn of Alton
- 1950 Lowell Pettit of EA-WR
- 1949 Ron Bedwell of Roxana
- 1948 Sam Vinyard of EA-WR
- 1947 Bob Caffery of EA-WR
- 1946 Dick Erzen of EA-WR