

Standefer, Gary, Are 2021 Gallatin Player of the Year Recipients

by Bill Rosenberry June 10 2021 1:48 PM

(Photos by Dan Cruz)





ALTON - The Harry Gallatin Players of the Year Banquet last took place in 2019, but that hasn't stopped the awards from being bestowed. The show must go on.

The 2021 recipients of the Gallatin Player of the Year awards were Alton senior Ja' Markus Gary for Male POY and Civic Memorial senior Tori Standefer for the Female POY.

It marks the 76th year the award has been presented to a male player and 28th year it's been awarded to a female player. Due to COVID-19 limitations and the shortened 2021 prep season, the Gallatin committee decided to only award the POY trophies to keep the tradition alive.

Gary was a highlight for an otherwise forgettable season for the Redbirds, as they finished 0-13. He averaged 18.3 points per game, 6.1 rebounds and 1.8 steals to lead AHS in all those categories. The 6-foot-1, 180-pound guard also led the Birds in free throw shooting at 72.1 percent. He posted a pair of double doubles and had a season-high, 32-point outburst vs. Belleville West on March 3.

Gary becomes the third Alton boys player to receive the Gallatin POY award in the last five years.

Standefer completed a stellar four-year career with CM this season. The point guard turned in a team-best 15.2 points per game as well as 4.6 assists, which were also tops for the Eagles. She helped lead CM to a 16-1 record in head coach Mike Arbuthnot's first season at the helm.

Standefer's win stretches the Eagles girls hoops program's streak of POY recipients to a whopping 11 straight years.

The Gallatin POY Banquet hopes to return to full capacity in 2022, celebrating its 75th fete. The plan is to present their entire line of awards — the POYs, 110-percent, free throws, team sportsmanship as well as its meritorious award.

The Gallatin Awards began in 1946 under the direction of the now defunct Alton Exchange Club. When the Exchange Club disbanded after the 2017 banquet, a group of locals stepped in to save the festivities and named them for Roxana High grad, NBA legend and Naismith Hall of Famer Harry Gallatin.

The Gallatin committee is comprised of Bill Roseberry, Steve Porter, Joe Silkwood, Frank Akers, Tim Lowrance and Trish Holmes. The awards are divvied out to the five Riverbend schools — Alton, Marquette Catholic, CM, East Alton-Wood River and Roxana.

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR

- 2021 Ja'Markus Gary of Alton and Tori Standefer of CM
- 2020 Gavin Huffman of Roxana and Anna Hall of CM
- 2019 Donovan Clay of Alton and Anna Hall of CM
- 2018 Sammy Green of Marquette Catholic and Kaylee Eaton of CM
- 2017 Maurice Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2016 Shandon Boone of Marquette Catholic and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2015 Darrius Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2014 Deion Lavender of Marquette Catholic and Megan Trost of CM
- 2013 Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megan Trost of CM
- 2012 Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megkinize Carter of CM
- 2011 Tony Bradley of Alton and Cassie Endicott of CM
- 2010 Tony Bradley of Alton and Kelsey Harrison of East Alton-Wood River
- 2009 Ryan Mathews of Alton and Michaela Herrod of Alton
- 2008 Ruben Cotto of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM
- 2007 Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM
- 2006 Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM
- 2005 Lorenzo Taylor of Alton and Emily Best of EA-WR
- 2004 Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Emily Best of EA-WR
- 2003 Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Jordan Davis of Roxana
- 2002 Travis Williams of EA-WR and Casey Law of CM
- 2001 Michael Stockard of Alton and Ashley Russell of EA-WR

2000 — Demarko "Book" Snipes of Alton and Michelle Beiermann of Marquette Catholic

- 1999 Demarko "Book" Snipes of Alton and Kendra Snyder of Marquette Catholic
- 1998 Tony Certa of Marquette Catholic and DoBee Oros-Moore of Alton
- 1997 Marlon Crawford of Alton and Jenni Combes of CM
- 1996 Nic Stotler of CM and Angela Payne of Roxana
- 1995 Greg McDanel of Roxana and Erica Oge of Marquette Catholic
- 1994 Eric Frankford of CM and Amie Gernigan of Marquette Catholic
- 1993 Ty Laux of CM
- 1992 Brad Bohannon of Marquette Catholic
- 1991 Jonathan Denney of CM
- 1990 Kevin Caldwell of Alton
- 1989 Joe Vann of Alton
- 1988 Steve Mason of Marquette Catholic
- 1987 Jamie Humphries of CM
- 1986 Larry Smith of Alton
- 1985 Larry Smith of Alton
- 1984 Dale Liley of EA-WR
- 1983 Rick Taylor of Alton
- 1982 Steve Wooley of EA-WR
- 1981 Dan Coddington of EA-WR
- 1980 Troy Washpun of Alton

- 1979 Jim "Buzz" Logan of EA-WR
- 1978 David Goins of Alton
- 1977 Brad Scheiter of Alton
- 1976 Leroy Stampley of Alton
- 1975 Chris Schroeder of Roxana
- 1974 Doug Nalley of Alton
- 1973 Lafayette Collins of Alton
- 1972 Dennis Olston of EA-WR
- 1971 Ron Caldwell of Alton
- 1970 Dave Taynor of CM
- 1969 Mike Jeffries of Alton
- 1968 Leon Huff of Alton
- 1967 Ricci Stotler of CM
- 1966 Jim Bailey of EA-WR
- 1965 Terry Brown of EA-WR
- 1964 Larry Jeffries of Alton
- 1963 Bob Hilgendorf of CM
- 1962 Larry Shoemaker of Alton
- 1961 Gary Lane of EA-WR
- 1960 Karl Doucleff of Western Military Academy
- 1959 Jerry Messick of EA-WR

- 1958 Mike Hunter of Alton
- 1957 Jim Lemon of EA-WR
- 1956 Cliff Talley of EA-WR
- 1955 Essic Robinson of Alton
- 1954 -Richard Brown of Roxana
- 1953 Dick Harbke of Roxana
- 1952 Ron Fisher of EA-WR
- 1951 Bob Kuhn of Alton
- 1950 Lowell Pettit of EA-WR
- 1949 Ron Bedwell of Roxana
- 1948 Sam Vinyard of EA-WR
- 1947 Bob Caffery of EA-WR
- 1946 Dick Erzen of EA-WR