

Gallatin Awards Canceled for 2021: Annual Banquet Plans to Return for 75th Fete Next Year

February 26 2021 4:51 PM



ALTON - The annual banquet to honor area prep basketball players is still looking to play host to its 75th fete, or diamond edition, but it will have to wait another season.

In 2020, the banquet was canceled due to restrictions, but players were recognized with awards after a full season was completed. With the shortened season in 2021, the

Gallatin Awards committee made the decision to postpone the festivities again, so they may return without limitations in 2022.

From 1946 to 2017, the Gallatin Awards were hosted by the Alton Exchange Club, but when the local fraternity disbanded, a group of local citizens formed a new committee and named it for the late great Harry Gallatin. The Roxana High graduate is a member of the Naismith Hall of Fame after a storied NBA career and was a longtime and influential coach and administrator at SIUE.

The banquet honors boys and girls basketball players from Alton, Civic Memorial, East Alton-Wood River, Marquette Catholic and Roxana. The committee consists of Bill Roseberry, Steve Porter, Joe Silkwood, Frank Akers, Trish Holmes and Tim Lowrance.

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR

- 2020 Gavin Huffman of Roxana and Anna Hall of CM
- 2019 Donovan Clay of Alton and Anna Hall of CM
- 2018 Sammy Green of Marquette Catholic and Kaylee Eaton of CM
- 2017 Maurice Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2016 Shandon Boone of Marquette Catholic and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2015 Darrius Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM
- 2014 Deion Lavender of Marquette Catholic and Megan Trost of CM
- 2013 Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megan Trost of CM
- 2012 Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megkinize Carter of CM
- 2011 Tony Bradley of Alton and Cassie Endicott of CM
- 2010 Tony Bradley of Alton and Kelsey Harrison of East Alton-Wood River
- 2009 Ryan Mathews of Alton and Michaela Herrod of Alton
- 2008 —Ruben Cotto of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM

2007 — Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM 2006 — Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM 2005 — Lorenzo Taylor of Alton and Emily Best of EA-WR 2004 — Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Emily Best of EA-WR 2003 — Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Jordan Davis of Roxana 2002 — Travis Williams of EA-WR and Casey Law of CM 2001 — Michael Stockard of Alton and Ashley Russell of EA-WR 2000 — Demarko "Book" Snipes of Alton and Michelle Beiermann of Marquette Catholic 1999 — Demarko "Book" Snipes of Alton and Kendra Snyder of Marquette Catholic 1998 — Tony Certa of Marquette Catholic and DoBee Oros-Moore of Alton 1997 — Marlon Crawford of Alton and Jenni Combes of CM 1996 — Nic Stotler of CM and Angela Payne of Roxana 1995 — Greg McDanel of Roxana and Erica Oge of Marquette Catholic 1994 — Eric Frankford of CM and Amie Gernigan of Marquette Catholic 1993 - Ty Laux of CM 1992 - Brad Bohannon of Marquette Catholic 1991 - Jonathan Denney of CM 1990 - Kevin Caldwell of Alton 1989 - Joe Vann of Alton 1988 - Steve Mason of Marquette Catholic

1987 - Jamie Humphries of CM

- 1986 Larry Smith of Alton
- 1985 Larry Smith of Alton
- 1984 Dale Liley of EA-WR
- 1983 Rick Taylor of Alton
- 1982 Steve Wooley of EA-WR
- 1981 Dan Coddington of EA-WR
- 1980 Troy Washpun of Alton
- 1979 Jim "Buzz" Logan of EA-WR
- 1978 David Goins of Alton
- 1977 Brad Scheiter of Alton
- 1976 Leroy Stampley of Alton
- 1975 Chris Schroeder of Roxana
- 1974 Doug Nalley of Alton
- 1973 Lafayette Collins of Alton
- 1972 Dennis Olston of EA-WR
- 1971 Ron Caldwell of Alton
- 1970 Dave Taynor of CM
- 1969 Mike Jeffries of Alton
- 1968 Leon Huff of Alton
- 1967 Ricci Stotler of CM
- 1966 Jim Bailey of EA-WR

- 1965 Terry Brown of EA-WR
- 1964 Larry Jeffries of Alton
- 1963 Bob Hilgendorf of CM
- 1962 Larry Shoemaker of Alton
- 1961 Gary Lane of EA-WR
- 1960 Karl Doucleff of Western Military Academy
- 1959 Jerry Messick of EA-WR
- 1958 Mike Hunter of Alton
- 1957 Jim Lemon of EA-WR
- 1956 Cliff Talley of EA-WR
- 1955 Essic Robinson of Alton
- 1954 Richard Brown of Roxana
- 1953 Dick Harbke of Roxana
- 1952 Ron Fisher of EA-WR
- 1951 Bob Kuhn of Alton
- 1950 Lowell Pettit of EA-WR
- 1949 Ron Bedwell of Roxana
- 1948 Sam Vinyard of EA-WR
- 1947 Bob Caffery of EA-WR
- 1946 Dick Erzen of EA-WR