

# **Complete List Of Internal Votes For Michael Madigan As Illinois Speaker Of House, Votes For Others**

January 12 2021 5:30 AM



(Note: This is a story from the Illinois Policy Institute)

SPRINGFIELD - An internal caucus vote on Sunday put Michael Madigan nine votes short of the 60 he needs for a 19th term as speaker of the Illinois House of Representatives.

But it also revealed he enjoyed support from a majority of House Democrats.

The floor vote for speaker will not take place until immediately after the 102nd General Assembly is sworn in on Jan. 13. Ahead of that official vote, which will include House Republicans, House Democrats on Jan. 10 held an internal caucus vote to decide the next speaker. Madigan suspended his campaign for speaker after coming up short, but has not officially withdrawn.

Madigan is the target of a wide-ranging federal corruption investigation, which has resulted in four recent indictments and Commonwealth Edison agreeing to pay a \$200 million fine for a yearslong scheme to curry favor with the speaker through \$1.3 million in no-work contracts and patronage jobs to Madigan's closest allies. Madigan has denied wrongdoing, and said he considers helping constituents find jobs to be part of his public service.

Madigan is the longest-serving speaker in American history, and has consolidated unprecedented power through parliamentary rules, control of the Illinois Democratic Party purse strings, and preventing good-government reforms, such as independently drawn political maps. Since he became speaker in 1983, Illinois' credit rating has fallen from the highest possible score to the worst in the nation – driven primarily by unsustainable pension promises made to his allies in government worker unions.

# The internal vote for speaker broke down as follows:

51 votes for Madigan

18 for Chicago state Rep. Ann Williams

Three votes for Aurora state Rep. Stephanie Kifowit

One present vote: state Rep. Kelly Cassidy, D-Chicago

With no candidate commanding the 60 votes necessary to hold the speaker's gavel, House Democrats may hold additional further internal votes ahead of inauguration day.

The following list is based on previously released statements, news reports and Statehouse sources.

Carol Ammons Jaime Andrade Dagmara Avelar Kam Buckner Kelly Burke Lakesia Collins Fred Crespo John D'Amico William Davis Anthony DeLuca Marcus Evans Mary Flowers La Shawn Ford Edgar Gonzalez Jehan Gordon-Booth LaToya Greenwood Michael Halpin Sonya Harper **Greg Harris** Barbara Hernandez Elizabeth Hernandez Maura Hirschauer Jay Hoffman Frances Ann Hurley **Thaddeus Jones** Camille Lilly Michael Madigan Theresa Mah Natalie Manley Joyce Mason **Rita Mayfield Debbie Meyers-Martin** Martin Moylan Aaron Ortiz **Delia** Ramirez **Robert Rita** Lamont Robinson Sue Scherer Justin Slaughter Nicholas Smith

Katie Stuart Curtis Tarver André Thapedi Dave Vella Mark Walker Lawrence Walsh Emanuel Chris Welch Jawaharial Williams Janet Yang Rohr Lance Yednock Michael J. Zalewski

#### **Votes for Williams (18)**

Jonathan Carroll Deb Conroy Margaret Croke **Daniel Didech** Will Guzzardi Eva-Dina Delgado Robyn Gabel Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz Terra Costa Howard Lindsey LaPointe Anna Moeller **Bob Morgan** Suzanne Ness **Denyse Wang Stoneback** Maurice West Ann Williams Kathleen Willis Sam Yingling

## **Votes for Kifowit (3)**

Stephanie Kifowit Michelle Mussman Anne Stava-Murray

## **Present votes (1)**

Kelly Cassidy