

Gallatin Award Trivia Night is Oct. 12

September 27 2019 11:39 AM

WOOD RIVER - The Gallatin Players of the Year Banquet will be celebrating its 75th edition in the spring, honoring the boys and girls basketball programs of the five Riverbend high schools.

In support of that, the second annual Gallatin Awards trivia night is scheduled for Oct. 12 at the Wood River VFW Hall, located at 231 E. Edwardsville Rd. in Wood River. Doors will open at 6 p.m. with trivia going from 7-10 p.m.

Tables will be comprised of a maximum of eight players. The price for a table is \$160, which will include draught beer and soda. No outside drinks are allowed, but please bring your own snacks.

This will be general trivia, so everyone is welcome. Raffle and auction items will be available with items like Missouri Valley Conference basketball tickets, area restaurant gift certificates and signed sports memorabilia, plus much more. There will also be a 50 /50 drawing and side games, so bring extra cash.

Please act fast to reserve a table, space is limited. Call Bill Roseberry at (618) 977-5668. Anyone interested in being around sponsor or wanting to donate raffle items also please call.

The Gallatin Awards took over for the Alton Exchange Club in 2018. The now-defunct Alton Exchange Club sponsored the banquet from 1946-2017. This awards banquet is older than the NBA. Alton's Donovan Clay and Civic Memorial's Anna Hall were the 2019 Players of the Year recipients.

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR

2019 — Donovan Clay of Alton and Anna Hall of CM

2018 — Sammy Green of Marquette Catholic and Kaylee Eaton of CM

2017 - Maurice Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM 2016 – Shandon Boone of Marquette Catholic and Allie Troeckler of CM 2015 - Darrius Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM 2014 – Deion Lavender of Marquette Catholic and Megan Trost of CM 2013 — Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megan Trost of CM 2012 — Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megkinize Carter of CM 2011 — Tony Bradley of Alton and Cassie Endicott of CM 2010 — Tony Bradley of Alton and Kelsey Harrison of East Alton-Wood River 2009 — Ryan Mathews of Alton and Michaela Herrod of Alton 2008 — Ruben Cotto of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM 2007 — Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM 2006 — Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM 2005 — Lorenzo Taylor of Alton and Emily Best of EA-WR 2004 — Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Emily Best of EA-WR 2003 — Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Jordan Davis of Roxana 2002 — Travis Williams of EA-WR and Casey Law of CM 2001 — Michael Stockard of Alton and Ashley Russell of EA-WR 2000 — Demarko "Book" Snipes of Alton and Michelle Beiermann of Marquette Catholic 1999 — Demarko "Book" Snipes of Alton and Kendra Snyder of Marquette Catholic

1998 — Tony Certa of Marquette Catholic and DoBee Oros-Moore of Alton

1997 — Marlon Crawford of Alton and Jenni Combes of CM

- 1996 Nic Stotler of CM and Angela Payne of Roxana
- 1995 Greg McDaniel of Roxana and Erica Oge of Marquette Catholic
- 1994 Eric Frankford of CM and Amie Gernigan of Marquette Catholic
- 1993 Ty Laux of CM
- 1992 Brad Bohannon of Marquette Catholic
- 1991 Jonathan Denney of CM
- 1990 Kevin Caldwell of Alton
- 1989 Joe Vann of Alton
- 1988 Steve Mason of Marquette Catholic
- 1987 Jamie Humphries of CM
- 1986 Larry Smith of Alton
- 1985 Larry Smith of Alton
- 1984 Dale Liley of EA-WR
- 1983 Rick Taylor of Alton
- 1982 Steve Wooley of EA-WR
- 1981 Dan Coddington of EA-WR
- 1980 Troy Washpun of Alton
- 1979 Jim "Buzz" Logan of EA-WR
- 1978 David Goins of Alton
- 1977 Brad Scheiter of Alton
- 1976 Leroy Stampley of Alton

- 1975 Chris Schroeder of Roxana
- 1974 Doug Nalley of Alton
- 1973 Lafayette Collins of Alton
- 1972 Dennis Olston of EA-WR
- 1971 Ron Caldwell of Alton
- 1970 Dave Taynor of CM
- 1969 Mike Jeffries of Alton
- 1968 Leon Huff of Alton
- 1967 Ricci Stotler of CM
- 1966 Jim Bailey of EA-WR
- 1965 Terry Brown of EA-WR
- 1964 Larry Jeffries of Alton
- 1963 Bob Hilgendorf of CM
- 1962 Larry Shoemaker of Alton
- 1961 Gary Lane of EA-WR
- 1960 Karl Doucleff of Western Military Academy
- 1959 Jerry Messick of EA-WR
- 1958 Mike Hunter of Alton
- 1957 Jim Lemon of EA-WR
- 1956 Cliff Talley of EA-WR
- 1955 Essic Robinson of Alton

- 1954 Richard Brown of Roxana
- 1953 Dick Harbke of Roxana
- 1952 Ron Fisher of EA-WR
- 1951 Bob Kuhn of Alton
- 1950 Lowell Pettit of EA-WR
- 1949 Ron Bedwell of Roxana
- 1948 Sam Vinyard of EA-WR
- 1947 Bob Caffery of EA-WR
- 1946 Dick Erzen of EA-WR