

## Academic Signing Day brings out best in students, faculty, parents

by Dan Brannan, Content Director May 8 2017 3:43 PM



EDWARDSVILLE - Friday was a day of pride at Edwardsville High School for parents, students and administrators.

EHS held its first annual Academic Signing Day and invited parents to come out for students to be recognized.

EHS Principal Dennis Cramsey was a big proponent of the day and helped bring it to reality with hard work of student volunteer Ike Bertels.

"Academic success has long been at the very center of who we are in District 7," Principal Dennis Cramsey said. "While there are many things that complement our academic success, the mainstay of our students' success is our students' high academic performance and achievement. Each year, our graduating seniors are awarded millions of dollars in scholarships to attend colleges, universities, and technical/trade schools all across the nation based on their academic accomplishments.

"This year, for the first time, our seniors had an opportunity to be recognized for their academic accomplishments by participating in the Academic Signing Day. Much like our athletes have an opportunity to be recognized by signing to play sports at a particular college or university, our seniors will have an opportunity to be recognized for being awarded scholarships for 50 percent or more of their tuition cost from their selected college, university, trade/technical school, or armed service based on their academic scholarship awards."

## **Academic Signing Day Criteria**

Students must receive a minimum of 50 percent of their tuition paid through academic scholarships from the college, university, or technical or trade school they have chosen to attend.

If academic scholarships from the college or university total to equal half or more than half of the price of tuition, the student will be eligible to participate in the Academic Signing Day.

## **EXAMPLE**

Tuition = \$20,000

Scholarship total equals \$10,000 or more – eligible

Scholarship total equals \$9,999 or less – ineligible

Students attending trade or technical schools are also eligible to participate.

Students receiving scholarships or financial awards due to academic accomplishments from any branch of the military to attend any college or university are also eligible to participate.

Scholarships must be for academic accomplishments (GPA and/or ACT/SAT scores) and must be issued from the university the recipient will attend.

No outside scholarships or athletic scholarships were taken into consideration for the day.

## **EHS student list on Academic Signing Day**

Brannan	Savannah	University of Illinois at Springfield
Cook	Taija	Southern Illinois University
Jafri	Faheem	Southern Illinois University
Sholl	Spencer	Southern Illinois University
Bertels	Ike	University of Arkansas
Cruzan	Rachel	University of Arkansas
Eastman	Lawrence Car	l Missouri University of Science & Technology
Spangenberg	Molly	University of Arkansas
Delmore	Erin	McKendree University
Grieve	Lily	Murray State Univrsity
Weinacht	Kayla	Murray State Univrsity
Willmore		

Ellsworth	Jennie	Southeast Missouri State University
Lynn	Katherine	University of Alabama in Huntsville
Murray	Riley	Southeast Missouri State University
Vazquez- Flanigan	Claudia	DePaul University
Benson	Alan	Air Force Academy
Huene	Desire	Florida State University
Lombardi	Benjamin	The University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa
Poiter	Callista	Hendrix College
Singh	Luniva	Bradley University
Velez	Mercedes	The University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa
Fulton	James	University of South Carolina
Goebel	Morgan	Mississippi State University
Queen	Jason	Northern Illinois University

Wernex	Chase	Mississippi State University
Downes	Sam	Valpraiso University
Fry	Mikayla	University of South Florida
Garvey	Collin	University of Alabama
Mendoza-Mosquito Deacon		Southern Illinois University
Raffaelle	Luke	Missouri University of Science & Technology
Schlueter	Benjamin	Iowa State University
Sellers	Curtis	University of Colorado-Boulder
Springman	Katrina	Southern Illinois University
Taylor	Camille	Nova Southeastern University
Voepel	Alyssa	Rose-Hudman Institute of Technology
Webb	Mary	Marquette University
Bonk	Kelly	University of Denver
Gassiraro	Joseph	Saint Louis University

McCormick Samuel Southwest Baptist University

Thompson Jane DePaul University