

# Edwardsville's Smith leading vote-getter on Class 4A All-State team; Epenesa named Honorable Mention

by Brent Feeney, Sports Writer March 17 2017 6:15 AM



BLOOMINGTON – Edwardsville's Mark Smith was the leading vote-getter as the 2016-17 Illinois Associated Press All-State teams were announced Thursday.

Smith was named to the Class 4A All-State team with a total of 84 points in voting conducted by state sportswriters and broadcasters. The Tigers' A.J. Epenesa was named an honorable mention by the voters.

Smith and Epenesa were the only Riverbender-area players honored this season.

Here are the All-State first and second teams for all four classes; only area players who were named honorable mention are listed:

### **CLASS 4A**

**First Team: Mark Smith, Edwardsville;** Nana Akenten, Bolingbrook; Nojel Eastern, Evanston; Evan Gilyard, Chicago Simeon; Jeremiah Tilmon, East St. Louis; Jordan Goodwin, Belleville Althoff

**Second Team:** Javon Pickett, Belleville East; Tray Buchanan, East Moline United; Cameron Krutwig, Algonquin Jacobs; Justin Smith, Lincolnshire Stevenson; Tai Bibbs, West Chicago



Honorable Mention: A.J. Epenesa, Edwardsville

# **CLASS 3A**

**First Team:** Ayo Dosunmu, Chicago Morgan Park; Tam Finke, Champaign Central; Yaakema Rose, Springfield Lanphier; Marcus Garrett, Country Club Hills Hillcrest; Dazon Farris, Bloomington

**Second Team:** Zac Rzewnecki, Norridge Ridgewood; Brett Czerak, Aurora Central Catholic; Jamal Nixon, Oak Park-Fenwick; Mike Volkening, Marengo; Keondre Schumacher, Normal University High

Honorable Mention: None

# **CLASS 2A**

**First Team:** Raekwon Drake, Chicago Orr; Brandon Trimble, St. Joseph-Ogden; Taylor Bruninga, Glasford Illini Bluffs; Demarius Jacobs, Chicago Uplift; Gentry Whiteman, Taylor Ridge Rockridge

**Second Team:** Justin Bottorff, Quincy Notre Dame; Jackson Marcotte, Mount Carmel; Mitch Hardiek, Teutopolis; Jason Fox, Dwight; Charles Payton, Stanford Olympia

Honorable Mention: None

# **CLASS 1A**

**First Team:** Noah Frederking, Okawville; Tyler McCormick, Colfax Ridgeview; Jordan Doss, Chicago Hope Academy; Jared Cain, Patoka; Drew Gibson, Effingham St. Anthony

**Second Team:** Corey Miller, Mendon Unity; Chaz Surdin, Peoria Quest Charter Academy; Will Clausel, Newark; Seth Ramsey, Junction Gallatin County; Jamal Alausa, Chicago University